Does TikTok Notify When You View a Profile? Learn Now!

Does TikTok Notify When You View a Profile? Learn Now! -

Recently, TikTok has gained a lot of popularity, this app is currently the 2nd most installed app. We all love to watch short videos on TikTok, but sometimes, we want to keep it a secret whether we have visited the creator’s page or not. If you’re a TikTok user, you might be wondering, does TikTok notify when you view someone’s profile? Well, we’re here to give you the lowdown.

We’ll cover notifications, how to view someone’s profile, and all of the various settings you can use.

Does TikTok Notify If You View Someone’s Profile?

Thankfully, TikTok doesn’t send people notifications that you’ve viewed their profile. It won’t come up and say, “Hey, X user just looked at your profile,” for example. However, there is a feature called Profile View History, which lists the users who have viewed your profile in the last 30 days.

However, before you panic, this is a two-way street. It will only show you who has viewed your profile when both of you have this feature turned on. So, by turning this off, no one will know when you’ve viewed their profile, but equally, you won’t be able to see who’s viewed your profile. Also, in this article, you can learn how to keep your child’s social media safe.

How to View Someone’s TikTok Profile Without Giving Notifications?

So, we’ve pretty much answered the question: does TikTok give notifications when you view someone’s profile (no, it doesn’t)? But how do you view someone’s profile without them knowing? There are several ways:

​​Turn off View Profile History

Here’s how to turn off profile view history step-by-step:

  1. Profile View History is automatically disabled unless you’ve previously turned it on, which is good.
  2. Tap “Profile” at the bottom-right-hand corner of the TikTok app.
  3. Click the three horizontal lines at the top-right-hand corner of this page.
  4. Click on Privacy.
  5. Scroll down to “Profile views”.
  6. Ensure it’s toggled to gray and says ”Off.”

So, does TikTok notify when you view a profile with this turned off? If you’ve got this feature turned off, it means no one will know when you’ve viewed their profile, even if they themselves have this feature enabled on their own accounts.

Even if you have this feature turned off, you may still get notifications. This will be something like “4 people viewed your profile.” However, when you click on the notification, it won’t give you further information. Instead, it will ask you if you want to turn on profile view history.

Fake Account

Since you can never know if someone has Profile Views History enabled on TikTok, many people advise using a fake account to visit someone who you don’t want to know you’re snooping on. This means they won’t know it’s you who’s having a look. Here are the steps to follow:

  1. Log out of your existing account.
  2. Click on the profile icon in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click on “Sign up with phone or email.”
  4. Enter a date of birth.
  5. Click “Next.”
  6. Enter your phone number.
  7. Set a password.
  8. Complete the human verification to prove you’re a real person.
  9. Then, you can edit this profile by clicking on the profile icon.
  10. Click “Edit profile.”
  11. Complete the profile with a fake username and display name. You can even add a fake profile photo and bio.
  12. Use this account to browse profiles in secret.

Browse as a Guest

Anyone who’s asked does TikTok notify if you view someone’s profile and are still worried could browse TikTok as a guest instead. If you log out of your TikTok account, you can then search for the TikTok user that you want. This only works if they have a public account, though. Otherwise, you’ll need to be logged in and follow them to view.

Here are the steps to take:

  1. Log out of your account.
  2. Search for the user you want.
  3. Scroll to view their profile and videos.

Conclusion

So, to answer the question: do you get notified when someone views your TikTok? No, you don’t. However, if you have profile view history enabled (you will need to turn it off yourself, it’s automatically disabled), they will be able to see you’ve viewed their profile.